Missoula County Media Release

Contact: Vickie Zeier

Chief Administrative Officer vzeier@missoulacounty.us 406-258-4229

May 1, 2019



Commissioners Strohmaier, Slotnick Set Timeline for Selecting New Commissioner

Missoula County Commissioners Dave Strohmaier and Josh Slotnick have finalized the timeline for selecting a new commissioner to fill the remainder of Nicole "Cola" Rowley's term.

Rowley announced last week that she will step down from her role as commissioner to serve as deputy county administrator with Gallatin County, effective July 1. The appointee will fill the remainder of her term, which runs through the end of 2020.

Pursuant to Montana Code Annotated 7-4-2106(2), Strohmaier and Slotnick have notified the Missoula County Democratic Central Committee, which will provide a list of three candidates for them to choose from. The commissioners have requested the committee submit those names by Friday, May 31.

Only candidates who have lived in District 1, which covers the southern third of the county (<u>view map</u>), for at least two years will be eligible to fill the vacancy. Interested candidates should email the Democratic Central Committee at communications@missoulademocrats.org.

Potential candidates can ask questions about the role of county commissioner during a forum at 5:30 p.m. Wednesday, May 15, in the Sophie Moiese Room of the Courthouse Annex. While the forum is open to the public, the main focus will be providing information to potential candidates, not for the public to ask candidates questions.

The Democratic Central Committee plans to select the three nominees at a meeting at 7 p.m. Tuesday, May 28, in the Sophie Moise Room.

Strohmaier and Slotnick will send written exercises for the candidates to complete on Friday, June 7. The written exercises will assess candidates' responses to various scenarios they may encounter as commissioner.

The two commissioners will interview the candidates on Tuesday, June 11. They will announce their decision during the administrative public meeting at 10 a.m. Thursday, June 13, in Room 206 of the Missoula County Administrative Building, 199 W. Pine St.

If Strohmaier and Slotnick are unable to select a candidate from the submitted list, the Democratic Central Committee must provide an additional list of three names.

The appointed commissioner will earn a salary of \$83,990.40.

Members of the public can submit comment on the candidates through Monday, June 10. Comments can be emailed to bcc@missoulacounty.us or mailed to 200 W. Broadway, Missoula, MT 59802.

For more information, call Chief Administrative Officer Vickie Zeier at 406-258-4229 or email vzeier@missoulacounty.us.

###

Missoula County is governed by a Board of County Commissioners, consisting of three elected members who serve six-year staggered terms. All legislative, executive and administrative powers and duties of the local government not specifically reserved by law or ordinance to other elected officials reside in the Commission (MCA-7-3-401). The current Board of County Commissioners includes Chair Nicole "Cola" Rowley, Dave Strohmaier and Josh Slotnick.