Missoula County Media Release

Contact: Sarah Bell Administrative Assistant, Commissioners' Office sbell@missoulacounty.us 406-258-4230

Commissioners Cancel Certain Special District Board of Trustees Elections, Declare Trustees Elected by Acclamation

Following election by acclamation of numerous candidates, the Board of Missoula County Commissioners canceled several May 7 Special District Elections, which are listed below.

While the Missoula County Elections Office received many nominating petitions, several board positions remain unfilled, as indicated in the list. Commissioners are seeking applicants to fill these trustee positions, which will become vacant May 31. Applicants must be residents of Missoula County and at least 18 years old. Additional residency requirements may apply. All board positions are served on a volunteer basis.

Applications for vacant positions are available <u>online</u> or in the County Commissioners' Office, located at 199 W. Pine St. Submissions may be filed electronically by emailing <u>sbell@missoulacounty.us</u>. The deadline to submit applications is 3 p.m. Thursday, May 30.

Per resolutions adopted by the county commissioners on April 23, 2019, the following Special District Elections have been canceled:

Bonner Milltown Community Council: Nominees C. Burt Caldwell and Kali Hannon elected by acclamation for three-year terms. One vacant partial term, running from June 1, 2019, to May 31, 2021, remains open. Vacant terms are to be applied for <u>online</u> and appointed by the Missoula Board of County Commissioners.

Clinton Rural Fire District: No fillings for two vacant three-year terms running through May 31, 2022. Vacant terms are to be applied for <u>online</u> and appointed by the Missoula Board of County Commissioners.

East Missoula Community Council: Nominee Lee Bridges elected by acclamation for three-year term. One vacant three-year term to May 31, 2022 remains. Board members act as a liaison between the citizens of the East Missoula community and the Missoula County Commissioners. Applicants must live in the East Missoula Sewer District. Vacant terms are to be applied for <u>online</u> and appointed by the Missoula Board of County Commissioners.

East Missoula Rural Fire District: Nominee Theodore Grant Dubuque elected by acclamation for a three-year term.

Evaro-Finley-O'Keefe Community Council: No filings for one vacant three-year term running through 2022. Board members act as a liaison between the citizens of the Evaro-Finley-O'Keefe area and the County Commissioners, providing information deemed useful, beneficial and helpful in decisions that affect the community. Applicants must be residents of the Evaro-Finley-O'Keefe community. Vacant terms are to be applied for <u>online</u> and appointed by the Missoula Board of County Commissioners.

Frenchtown Rural Fire District: Nominee Sean Mecham elected by acclamation for a three-year term.

April 30, 2019

Greenough Potomac Fire Service Area: Nominee Jennifer Iverson elected by acclamation for a three-year term.

Lolo Community Council: Nominee Jennifer Schultz elected by acclamation for a three-year term. Two vacant terms are available: one three-year term running through 2022 and the remainder of a three-year term to 2021. Board members act as a liaison between the citizens of Lolo and the Missoula Board of County Commissioners. Applicants must reside in Lolo School District No. 7 or Woodman School District No. 18. Vacant terms are to be applied for <u>online</u> and appointed by the Missoula Board of County Commissioners.

Missoula Rural Fire District: Nominees Dick Mangan and Cheryl Hanson elected by acclamation for three-year terms.

Seeley Lake Community Council: Nominees Jack Greenwood and Doug Anderson elected by acclamation for three-year terms. The commissioner-appointed term will be vacant on May 31, 2019. The new three-year term will run through May 31, 2022. Vacant terms are to be applied for <u>online</u> and appointed by the Missoula Board of County Commissioners.

Seeley Lake Rural Fire District: Nominee Douglas E. Waldron elected by acclamation for a three-year term.

Seeley-Swan Hospital District: Nominee Twyla Johnson elected by acclamation for a one-year term and nominee Walter E. Hill elected by acclamation for a three-year term.

<u>Swan Valley Community Council</u>: Nominee Lacey McNutt elected by acclamation for a three-year term. One vacant three-year term to May 31, 2022, remains. Board members act as a liaison between the citizens of the Swan Valley community and the Missoula Board of County Commissioners. Applicants must live within Missoula County School District No. 33. Vacant terms are to be applied for <u>online</u> and appointed by the Missoula Board of County Commissioners.

Swan Valley Fire Service Area: Nominee John K. Mercer elected by acclamation for a three-year term. One vacant three-year term to May 31, 2022, remains. Vacant terms are to be applied for <u>online</u> and appointed by the Missoula Board of County Commissioners.

<u>West Valley Community Council</u>: Nominee Jeri Delys elected by acclamation for a three-year term. One vacant three-year term to May 31, 2022, remains. Board members act as a liaison between the citizens of the West Valley community and the Missoula Board of County Commissioners. Applicants must be residents of the West Valley community, which includes the Frenchtown, Huson, Six Mile, Nine Mile and Upper Nine Mile areas. Vacant terms are to be applied for <u>online</u> and appointed by the Missoula Board of County Commissioners.

Irrigation District Elections Canceled:

Big Flat Irrigation District: No filings for one vacancy. Vacant terms are to be filled by the Big Flat Irrigation District Board.

Clinton Irrigation District: Nominee Shellie A. Nelson elected by acclamation for a three-year term.

Frenchtown Irrigation District: Nominee Dick D. Lucier elected by acclamation for a three-year term.

Missoula Irrigation District: No filings for two vacancies. Vacant terms are to be filled by the Missoula Irrigation District Board.

These elections were canceled pursuant to the following state statutes: <u>MCA 7-5-2101</u>, <u>MCA 85-7-1702(3)</u> and <u>MCA 13-1-304</u>.