Missoula County Media Release

Contact: Sarah Bell Commissioners' Office Administrative Assistant sbell@missoulacounty.us (406) 258-4230

Missoula County Commissioners Seeking Applicants for Board Positions

On Dec. 31, 2017 Missoula County boards, councils, and committees will have 29 terms expiring. During this time, current members who are eligible for reappointment must reapply and interview with the Missoula Board of County Commissioners if they desire to continue serving. New applicants are also encouraged to apply. All applications are available <u>online</u> or in the Commissioners' Office, located at 199 West Pine Street in Missoula. Submissions may be filed electronically or emailed to <u>sbell@missoulacounty.us</u>. Deadline for applications is Nov. 30, 2017 by 5 p.m.

<u>Airport Authority Board</u> – One alternate member to fill a vacant term running through Dec. 31, 2020. Board consists of seven members; five regular voting members and two alternate non-voting members. The Missoula County Airport Authority functions for the benefit of the public and for public and governmental purposes and as a matter of public necessity. The purpose of the authority is the planning, acquisition, establishment, development, construction, improvement, maintenance, equipment, operation, regulation, and protection of the Missoula International Airport and air navigation facilities, including the elimination of airport hazards.

<u>Florence-Carlton Cemetery Board</u> - One, three-year term vacancy. Board consists of three members serving three-year terms. Governs and manages the Florence-Carlton Cemetery District.

<u>Board of Health</u> – Two regular member vacancies; one to fill a vacant term running through Dec. 31, 2019 and one to fill a full three-year term running through Dec. 31, 2020. Experience in nursing or a science profession preferred. The board consists of seven voting members as set forth in the interlocal agreement between the City of Missoula and the County of Missoula. The Board of Health is the policy-making body that determines the goals, objectives, and programs for the delivery of public health services to Missoula residents, both city and county. The board has statutory authority and responsibility including rule-making and adjudication, as well as budgeting authority. The board is responsible for selecting the Health Officer, who carries out statutory duties and directs the Missoula City-County Health Department.

<u>Historical Museum</u> – One alternate member vacancy to fill a vacant term running through Dec. 31, 2019. The board consists of five voting members, and one non-voting alternate member. The Historical Museum at Fort Missoula is dedicated to increasing the knowledge and understanding of the history of the county and city of Missoula, the history of Fort Missoula and the military presence in the area, and the history of forest management and the wood products industry in western Montana. The Historical Museum Board is responsible for the daily operations of the Historical Museum at Fort Missoula, except for those fiscal and personnel, statutory and administrative authorities reserved by Missoula County. The board helps maintain the physical, professional, aesthetic, and fiscal health of the Historical Museum.

<u>Larchmont Golf Course Board</u> – Three vacancies each for a three-year term running through Dec. 31, 2020. The Larchmont Board of Directors was established to oversee and operate the golf course. The board has full power and authority to take any and all action necessary to operate and manage the golf course, in an efficient and business-like manner. The board prepares and presents the proposed budget to the Missoula Board of

November 1, 2017

County Commissioners and reports to the commissioners monthly. In addition, the board oversees the personnel, as required, for the efficient operation of the course.

<u>Lolo Mosquito Board</u> - One, three-year term vacancy. Board consists of five members serving three-year terms. The Board of Trustees, Lolo Mosquito Abatement District, was created Oct. 1, 1978, as a Mosquito Abatement District by the County of Missoula. The district manages and controls mosquito pests and minimizes mosquito-borne diseases such as West Nile and Equine Encephalitis.

<u>Missoula Urban Transportation District [MUTD]</u> – One, four-year term vacancy. Seven member board; three members appointed by the Mayor, three members appointed by the Missoula Board of County Commissioners and one member alternating City/County appointment. The MUTD supplies transportation services and facilities to district residents and other persons. The district shall provide quality public service to meet the mobility needs of the community, but may authorize service outside the district boundaries where deemed appropriate. The board has all powers necessary and proper to the establishment, operation, improvement, maintenance and administration of the district.

<u>Open Lands Citizen Advisory Committee [OLC]</u> – Eight vacancies, four regular members and four non-voting alternate positions. The committee is comprised of 13 voting members; up to four non-voting alternates; and technical advisors when needed. The OLC advises the Missoula Board of County Commissioners and represents the citizens of Missoula County in the protection and preservation of open space and the rural way of life for present and future generations.

<u>Planning and Zoning Commission</u> – One, two-year term vacancy. The planning and zoning commission consists of three county commissioners, either the county surveyor or the county clerk and recorder, two citizen members, each of whom resides in a different planning and zoning district or, if only one district exists in a county or is proposed, both from that district, and a county official appointed by the county commissioners.

<u>Missoula Consolidated Planning Board [MCPB]</u> – Five vacancies, four regular two-year term members and one alternate two-year term non-voting members. The MCPB is comprised of nine members. The objective is to enable units of local government within Missoula County to cooperate in promoting quality of life and healthy environment through the orderly development of those units and their environs by planning for the improvement of the present health, safety, convenience and welfare of their citizens and the future development of their communities.

<u>Tax Appeal Board</u> - Three, three-year term vacancies. The board is comprised of five members and meets to hear taxpayers' appeals from property tax assessments and attend meetings called by the state tax appeal board. The county tax appeal board is in session from July 1 of the current tax year until Dec. 31 of the current tax year to hear protests concerning assessments made by the department until the business of hearing protests is disposed of and, as provided in MCA 15-2-201, may meet after Dec. 31.

<u>Weed Control Board</u> – Six vacancies, four regular member and two alternate positions to fill vacant terms. Board consists of nine regular members and two alternate positions. The board oversees the planning, implementing, and developing of a coordinated program that includes education, prevention, management, and research as described in the weed district's Noxious Weed Management Plan. The members represent landowners' interests county-wide.

<u>Zoning Board of Adjustments</u> – Three, two-year term vacancies. The Missoula County Zoning Board of Adjustment provides equality and flexibility in the implementation of county zoning. The board administers provisions of the County Zoning Resolution; hears and decides appeals, variances, and special exceptions to terms in the County Zoning Resolution upon which the board is required to pass under that resolution.

For further information, please contact the County Commissioners' Office at (406) 258-4877. All board vacancies are listed on our <u>website</u>.