Missoula County

Media Release

Contact: Sarah Bell
Administrative Assistant
Missoula County Commissioners' Office
(406) 258-4230
sbell@missoulacounty.us



Commissioners Cancel Certain Special District Board of Trustees Elections, Declare Trustees Elected by Acclamation

The Board of Missoula County Commissioners canceled a number of May 2, 2017 Special District Elections, as set forth below. While the Missoula County Elections Office received many nominating petitions that resulted in election by acclamation, there are several board positions that remain unfilled. The Commissioners are seeking applicants to fill these trustee positions which will become vacant in May 2017. Applicants must be residents of Missoula County and at least 18 years of age. Residency requirements may also apply. All board positions are served on a volunteer basis.

Per Resolutions adopted by the County Commissioners on April 13, 2017, the following Special District Elections have been canceled:

Bonner-Milltown Community Council: Nominee Donald Felton elected by acclamation for three-year term.

Clinton Rural Fire District: One recently vacated three-year term is available.

East Missoula Community Council: Nominee Rick Stephens elected by acclamation for three-year terms.

East Missoula Rural Fire District: Nominees Adam S. Pummill and Cynthia Winchell elected by acclamation for three-year terms.

Evaro-Finley-O'Keefe Community Council: Nominee Janet Carol Stevens elected by acclamation for a three-year term. One three-year term is available. Acts as a liaison between the citizens of Evaro-Finley-O'Keefe area and the County Commissioners, and provides info deemed useful, beneficial and helpful in making decisions which affect this community. Applicants must live in Districts #39, #40, #41 #42 or #43.

Frenchtown Rural Fire District: Nominees Dana Cotnoir and Benjamin Domenic Martello Jr. elected by acclamation for three-year terms.

Greenough Potomac Fire District: Nominee Gary Burnett elected by acclamation for three-year term. One additional three-year term is available.

Lolo Community Council: No filings for three vacancies. Applicants sought for two new three-year terms to 2020 and one unexpired Commissioner-appointed member term to 2018. Applicants must reside in the Lolo School District #7 or the Woodman School District #118.

Missoula Rural Fire District: Nominee Larry Hanson elected by acclamation for a three-year term. One recently vacated term to 2018 is also available.

Seeley Lake Community Council: Nominees Kristine Martin and Sally Johnson elected by acclamation for three-year terms. One newly vacated term to 2019 is also available. Applicants must reside in the Seeley Lake School District #33.

Seeley Lake Swan Valley Hospital District: Nominees Mary Ann Morin and John Addis elected by acclamation for three-year terms.

Swan Valley Fire Service Area: Nominee James Demarest Boyd elected by acclamation for three-year term.

West Valley Community Council: Nominee Judy McKinney elected by acclamation for three-year term. One unexpired term to 2018 is available. Applicants must reside in the West Valley Community.

Irrigation District Elections Canceled:

Big Flat Irrigation District: One three-year term expiring. The District is to reappoint a new three-year term member.

Clinton Irrigation District: Nominee Patrick Byrne elected by acclamation for three-year term.

Frenchtown Irrigation District: Nominee Gyla Steiner elected by acclamation for three-year term.

Missoula Irrigation District: Nominees Robert Cole and Shawn Clouse elected by acclamation for three-year terms.

These elections were canceled pursuant to the following state statues: MCA 7-5-2101, MCA 85-7-1702(3) and MCA 13-1-304.

Applications for vacant positions are available <u>online</u> or in the County Commissioners' Office, located at 199 West Pine Street. Submissions may be filed electronically, emailed to <u>sbell@missoulacounty.us</u>. Deadline for applications is Monday, May 22, 2017 by 5 p.m.