About Missoula County

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Missoula County, Montana, covers approximately 2,600 square miles in the western part of the state. Five large valleys and three major rivers wind through this mountainous region. Missoula County has a population of approximately 117,922 people (2020 U.S. Census) and the county seat is Missoula.

The Missoula County Courthouse, 200 West Broadway, Missoula, MT, 59802, was completed in 1910. Its south foyer is graced by a series of eight murals painted by famed western artist Edgar S. Paxson between 1912 and 1914. An addition to the courthouse was completed in 1966.

Missoula County is governed by three commissioners, each elected to staggered six-year terms. The current commissioners are Juanita Vero,  Josh Slotnick and David Strohmaier. For more information about the commission, please visit their homepage.

There are nearly 30 departments within Missoula County, eight of which are under the leadership of elected officials, while others are supervised by department heads and/or officers. The organization chart below demonstrates the far reach of our work. 

022822 Org Chart