The Missoula City-County Health Department has three health-related boards:

Authority and Governance

The three boards are joint City-County boards.


Mission, Guiding Principles and Strategic Plan

The three boards share a common overall mission, guiding principles and strategic plan in order to protect public health.


The same seven members serve on all three boards, with the addition of an eighth member who serves on the Water Quality District Board.

Health Department and Advisory Council Support

The work of the boards is supported by the staff at the Missoula City-County Health Department and by three advisory councils.